“IDGC of Urals” — annual report 2018

The goal and the solution

IDGC of Urals” is responsible for distribution of electricity in the Urals region. Not only it sounds very cool but also it implies a business dealing with serious money. The yearly report is expected to show to the investors and shareholders how well the company closes the year and how good are the opportunities awaiting them all in the upcoming year. While preparing the report we had to take into consideration scores of legal limitations and to follow the rigid report structure and in the same time we had to present the information with flair and a clear way.

We had only three months to finish the project while we had to deal with a lot of content: 100 pages of text, 55 tables, 25 charts and 96 normative references. We also had not to forget about additional but provisioned by the law functions such as mailing of links to documents, vision impaired access mode, documents saving and downloading in .pdf format.

Annual report 2018

 

Approach to the development

The Customer provided us with references and reports of previous years as a starting point of our project. After studying them we showed the Customer examples of actual reports of other companies that decided to put aside many of the carryovers of the past. The Customer was eager to try something new. For instance we have substituted multiple drop-down menus with a multilayer menu with easy navigation enabling the users not to get lost in the site structure and to be always able understand where they are and to find the way out.

We could not skip the secondary functions imposed by the law but we managed to make them less interfering: an experienced or testing user will be able to find them easily while an inexperienced one will not get hindered by incomprehensible icons.

 

Design and layout

In order to emphasize the business of the Customer we put power lines on the main page adding to them the company’s main yearly figures. The key indicators are floating near the infrastructure that allowed reaching them. The metaphor came out to be clear and stylish.

We also improved the standard functionality of the dashboard adding the feature for creating new section types. This is important for viewing charts, images and text sections in the design that was tailor made for the project.

We had to post a lot of tables on the site. Anyone who has ever faced this task knows how challenging is to make a proper and neat table layout. We delivered two ways to work with tables: a full-format web view and downloadable spreadsheets. We also added a convenient table construction kit with import feature and advance styling options to the admin section.

 

The content

Texts in the annual report are the top priority for the Customer. Working under the tight timeline we had not only to publish the whole content in time but also not to make a single mistake because the controlling bodies will meticulously check every figure and character.

The English version of the reports was also a must to deliver, so we bore a double responsibility while filling out the site with the content. The Customer was absolutely satisfied with the quality and timeline of our work with the content as we made no unfortunate slips and no edits were necessary.

Furthermore we added a link to the corresponding page of the previous year report to every page and made a .pdf version. Also, the yearly report contains about 70 abbreviations, so we added cross references activating by mouseover to make these abbreviations easier to understand.

Result

We developed an interactive easy to navigate yearly report that also contributes to the corporate brand with necessary special features, while observing all legal requirements and delivering it within a tight timeline.

 

Project team

  • Vsevolod

    Project manager

  • Vitaliy

    Account manager

  • Ivan

    Art director

  • Max

    Designer

  • Sergei

    Backend developer

  • Andrei

    Backend developer

  • Max

    Frontend developer

  • Alyona

    Frontend developer

  • Polina

    Content manager

Next project

Let's discuss your project

Годовой отчет МРСК 2018

Клиент

«МРСК Урала» — межрегиональная распределительная сетевая компания, входит в структуру ПАО Россети.

Задача

«МРСК Урала» занимается передачей электроэнергии по электрическим сетям на территории Уральского региона. Это не только звучит очень круто, но и подразумевает очень серьёзные цифры. Годовой отчёт должен показать инвесторам и акционерам, насколько хорошо компания заканчивает год, и какое море перспектив ждёт всех в году наступающем. Нам нужно было учесть десятки правовых ограничений, следовать жёсткой структуре отчёта, но при этом умудриться подать информацию эффектно и понятно.

На весь проект у нас было всего 3 месяца, при этом нужно было справиться с переносом горы контента – 100 страниц наборного текста, 55 таблиц, 25 графиков и 96 нормативных ссылок – и не забыть про дополнительные, но предписанные законом функции, – отправка ссылок на документы по почте, режим для слабовидящих, сохранение документов и выгрузка pdf.

Годовой отчет МРСК 2018

 

Принципы проектирования

Клиент предоставил референсы и прошлые отчёты, от которых хотел отталкиваться. Изучив их, мы показали примеры актуальных отчётов других компаний, отказавшихся от многих артефактов прошлого. Заказчик с воодушевлением согласился попробовать что-то новое. Например, мы заменили многоступенчатое меню на многоуровневое с навигацией, так пользователь не потеряется в структуре сайта и всегда поймёт, где он и как выбраться.

Мы не могли выбросить второстепенные функции, предписанные нормативами, но смогли сделать их менее заметными: знающий или занимающийся проверкой пользователь найдёт их без труда, а малосведущий не будет спотыкаться о непонятные иконки.

 

Дизайн и вёрстка

Чтобы обозначит сферу деятельности заказчика, мы разместили на главной странице линии электропередач, добавив к ним годовые показатели компании. Основные показатели парят в воздухе рядом с тем, что помогло их достичь. Метафора вышла понятной и стильной.

Ещё мы доработали стандартный функционал панели управления, добавив возможность включать новые виды секций. Это нужно для вывода графиков, изображений и текстовых секций в дизайне, который был разработан специально для проекта.

Нам нужно было красиво разместить на сайте гору таблиц. Каждый, кто хоть раз сталкивался с такой задачей, знает, сколько усилий требует хорошая и аккуратная табличная вёрстка. Мы проработали два кейса для табличной информации: полноформатный просмотр в вебе и скачивание для работы локально. В админку добавили удобный конструктор таблиц с импортом и продвинутой стилизацией.

 

Контент

Тексты в годовом отчёте максимально важны для заказчика. Работая в сжатые сроки, нам нужно было не только опубликовать весь контент, но и не допустить ни одной ошибки. Проверяющие органы будут дотошно проверять каждый знак и каждую запятую.

Обязательным условием также была английская версия отчётов, поэтому мы несли двойную ответственность во время заполнения сайта. Заказчик остался доволен качеством и оперативностью работы с контентом, обошлось без правок и досадных ошибок.

Ещё к каждой странице привязали ссылку на аналогичную страницу из отчёта за прошлый год, а также прикрепили pdf-версию. Также в годовом отчёте содержится около 70 аббревиатур. Чтобы сделать их проще для понимания, мы добавили перекрёстные ссылки, которые срабатывают при наведении курсора.

Результат

Итого у нас получилось не только соблюсти правовые ограничения, добавить требуемые специальные функции и закончить работу в сжатые сроки, мы разработали интерактивный отчёт, в котором легко ориентироваться, и который работает как имиджевый инструмент большой компании.

 

 

Команда проекта

  • Всеволод

    Проект-менеджер

  • Виталий

    Аккаунт-менеджер

  • Иван

    Арт-директор

  • Максим

    Дизайнер

  • Сергей

    Бэкенд

  • Андрей

    Бэкенд

  • Максим

    Фронтенд

  • Алена

    Фронтенд

  • Полина

    Контент

Смотреть следующий проект